Under the Overpass

Under the Overpass, originally uploaded by Valerie Morrison.

113/365

This is the overpass I drive under every evening. I take the same route to work and back.

I’m a creature of habit when it comes to driving and because if I don’t stay on course, I’ll get lost.

Yesterday I noticed how nicely lit it is under the overpass and decided to photograph it on my way home today.

IT. WAS. COLD.

I photographed until I could no longer feel my fingers. I was able to get a few light trails, but only one shown here.

6 thoughts on “Under the Overpass

    • thanks ron. it was nice to have people in the photo, it sometimes adds to..but the train let out in the middle of me shooting and i had to keep moving out of the way. some people crossed in front of my shot.

      i’m okay with this shot. i thought about going back with my gloves on, but this is good enough. and the blue sky would have been totally gone.

  1. I second Ron’s comment — I just love those types of photos that show the long streaks of light. Did you use a tripod? It seems like you’d have to have the shutter open for a while and any movement on your part would blur thing more.

    Unless you shiver side-to-side which might enhance the streets. I tend to shiver vertically and that would jack up the picture. If I didn’t have a tripod.

    Oh! Can you open the shutter on a digital camera? I think mine has a setting to keep it open longer. But I think you use an actual SLR camera, right?

    Look how technical I am this morning. Sweep the Leg!

    • yes ma’am, i used a tripod. and yes you can leave the shutter open on a digital, if your camera allows it, most SLRs do. i didn’t use my SLR (still haven’t figured out the bulb setting on that one – that’s leaving it open until you say stop), but my compact digital. even though i can leave the shutter open, i opted for a slightly longer exposure.

      and yes you have impressed me this morning!! as i was reading your comment, i jerked back from the monitor, like wth and look at you!!! go cg. and you didn’t even sound like you were reading from one of those scripts like telemarketers do.

Speak on it!

