L is for Lady Bug



L is for Lady Bug, originally uploaded by Valerie Morrison.

172/365

Several months ago, the office building where I work was infested with lady bugs. Occasionally, we would still see a few inside the building and around light fixtures.

Yesterday, I went downstairs to the first floor where I know the ladies like to hang out. I found one on the door, I had a cup, she was alone and the rest is history.

Right now, Lady is living inside of a 10 gallon fish tank with her own plant and water supply. So I have a pet lady bug. Mind you, crazy is having 100 cats, I have one lady bug. So far, so good.

Lady is not really much of a performer. She wasn’t down with the flash going off in her eyes, but she couldn’t outrun me. Initially, she wasn’t smart enough to stay on her leaf, but kept falling off, which was okay because it ruled out college. In just a few minutes, I had her trained to pose for pictures. One time, I really thought I saw her mouth move and she called me a…

If it happens again, she’ll be released back into the wild.

16 thoughts on “L is for Lady Bug

    • well you can always crop, this is not a true macro (my lens is 1.2 not 1.1), even though taken with my macro lens, i cropped for additional magnification.

  1. “…but kept falling off, which was okay because it ruled out college. ” Hee! She’s lovely. I hope you never report that she’s MIA. I choose to believe she’ll live forever.

    • she was starting to annoy me with that falling off act. i’m like, Lady, is this your first time! she gets lost in her tank, i think i better take her back, she’s starting to feel like a pet. i care about a lady bug.

  2. Oh, how adorable!

    I love lady bugs. They’re so delicate; the way they fly around and then land on your hand.

    Ok, I have a question for you.

    What do you call a male lady bug?

Speak on it!

