Play Ball!

232/365

Joined the firm’s softball team.

Took 3 Advil before I played.

Got to first base twice.

Hit one to LF.

Hit another straight down CF.

Caught a pop fly before another dude thought I wasn’t going to catch it.

Knocked it out of my glove and then he caught it.

I did drop one pop fly because the same dude ran into me trying to catch my ball and then told me I need to call it.

How about he stop trying to play all positions. The guys want the women to think we are playing when we could have sat in lawn chairs and filed our nails the way they were covering the field. Or is that called team work?

I had one assist.

I played second base.

I broke a nail running to first base, after I hit the ball.

I may not be able to move in the morning.

Time will tell.

6 thoughts on “Play Ball!

  1. Ugh. Softball. I was so-so, not even so-so. I was okay at catching the ball but I was *always* in the outfield. And didn’t it suck when you got up to bat and everyone told the outfield people, “Come in, come in closer for this one.”

    Just once I wish I had knocked that sucker way out so those punks who came in would have to run wildly back out.

    Oh yeah. Hope you had a good time even though the nail broke and your body aches.

    • V says:

      i’m not even good at it, but i’ll be darn if i don’t *think* i can play. my mind tells me i can climb mountains, if i wanted to, but my body says sit your butt down. i like to challenge myself and usually end up losing.

      like you, i didn’t want anyone saying come in for this one. i think i hit one far enough that they are not sure where to stand. a line drive always works well. anything in the air and i’m out.

      yes, fun time and as of this morning i could use a professional full body massage, but i’ll probably have to settle on the home edition and some more advil.

  2. “The guys want the women to think we are playing when we could have sat in lawn chairs and filed our nails the way they were covering the field. Or is that called team work?”

    No, that’s called “guys being afraid of the competition.” HA!

    You GO, girl!

    X

    • V says:

      i don’t know ron, they were covering all positions. we’ll go to the next game, but i’m not sure i’ll play. maybe watch and take picture. i’ll play in the following one.

Speak on it!

