day 23: technology

yawn. i have a love/hate relationship with technology. i use this stuff every day, except for the cell phone shown; my current cell phone died and i’m waiting on a replacement. though sometimes abused, technology is convenient, it’s an integral part of my life. *shrugs*

i have notes of what’s what on my flickr page.

interesting quote i found on wikipedia:

Philosophical debates have arisen over the present and future use of technology in society, with disagreements over whether technology improves the human condition or worsens it. Neo-Luddism, anarcho-primitivism, and similar movements criticise the pervasiveness of technology in the modern world, opining that it harms the environment and alienates people.

4 thoughts on “day 23: technology

  1. Me too, Val. I also have a love/hate relationship with technology.

    In fact, yesterday afternoon while walking home from work, I was thinking about this same thing. I was noticing how practically every single person around me was either texting or talking on their phone. I mean does anyone just WALK around anymore without having some kind of technical apparatus attached to their hands?

    But in the same breath I thought, “What would I do without my computer or the Internet? The internet is such a valuable tool in connecting people and finding information. With a flick of a few buttons, we can literally find anything we want (movies, TV shows, newspaper articles, etc.).

    As you shared…..”though sometimes abused, technology is convenient, it’s an integral part of my life.”

    Yes, it can be abused, you’re right. But it’s used wisely, technology is so convenient, and an integral part of our lives.

    Love the quote you shared. In some ways I can see that technology does alienate people yet, in other ways (like people who are confined to their homes) it brings them together with other people in a way that they might otherwise be alienated FROM.

    Great post!

    Have a super day, girl!

    X

    • v says:

      “I mean does anyone just WALK around anymore without having some kind of technical apparatus attached to their hands?”

      um, no. even when i go for my walks, i have my music going.

      and it’s true too much technology alienates people, yet it can bring us together at the same time. i thought the person who invented twitter was a convalescence and couldn’t go out to people so he brought the people to him. of course, this is my twisted version of why twitter.

      have a happy.

Speak on it!

