shiny

today starts my month-long project and i already feel stuck or perhaps, not satisfied. i have been giving a lot of mental thought to the project, writing down ideas and even looking up the meanings to all the words. not that i don’t know them, but instead of walking through the obvious front door, i had hoped to shimmy myself through a side entrance instead. not sure if mission has been accomplished here, but i did shine my guitar for this picture and isn’t she lovely?

as i mentioned in my previous post, i’m making things more difficult for myself by restricting my camera and lens choice and doing everything in manual mode. and it shows. the lighting is okay here, but the focus is doubtful.  even though my intended DOF (depth of field) is shallow, i’m not sure where the focus is in this photo, maybe on the nut in the middle. yeah that sounds about right.

until tomorrow.

picture details:
camera: olympus om-d em-5
lens: olympus 45mm
focus: manual
f-stop: 1.8
shutter: 1/60
iso: 200
wb: 5400k
tripod

37 thoughts on “shiny

  1. Don’t we all sometimes feel like a maybe-in-focus nut in the middle.. I love this photo, it’s very shiny, indeed, and I definitely admire you for shooting everything in manual mode all month long.

    • v says:

      yes, i feel like a nut most of the time, in and out of focused. thanks for stopping by ziva. yeah manual is going to kill me, as my seeing eye dog can’t see crap either. 🙂

  2. I like it. I really like how in the middle turny thing(so technical I am) right outside the shine you can see a fingerprint. It gives a mystery about it. I am way too deep for even myself this morning. LOL

    • v says:

      yes the fingerprint is driving me crazy, that’s all i really see. at the last minute, i turned the uh, thingy just a little and i’m busted. fingerprints be darned! thanks for stopping by, look forward to seeing your photos.

  3. “the lighting is okay here, but the focus is doubtful.”

    Personally, I LOVE the focus. It’s very clear! And I also love the soft focus around the edges.

    Again, you inspire me, girl!

    Stunning photo……X

    • v says:

      hey ron, the focus could be a tad tighter, but there’s only so much that can be in focus at that stop. always appreciate you showing up here, ron. xo

    • v says:

      greetings fellow participant,

      yes, the turn key. it’s been a while since i’ve played, i discontinued my lessons and i can only fake the funk. thanks for stopping by and can’t wait to see more of your (and everyone’s) photos.

  4. Being narcissistic, I assumed nut in the middle was a reference to me. And when I realized that I have a shiny bald spot, I knew I was right, and that you’re secretly making fun of me. Whatever. I still like your photo.

    • v says:

      hey mike. my spam filter ate your comment twice. i put it in time out and all is right with the world. won’t happen again. thanks for visiting. the nut in the middle is always me, well almost. i’ll share the spotlight with ya.

  5. Being narcissistic, I immediately assumed nut in the middle was a veiled reference to me. And when I realized that I have a shiny bald spot on my head, I knew I was right and that you’re openly mocking me. Whatever. I still like your photo.

    • v says:

      and thank you meleah. you have nice blogging friends, thanks for the invite and the directions. you know how bad i get lost. you rock, as always. xo

    • v says:

      yes, i love my baby, but haven’t played with him in a while. i do want to start playing again, it’s soothing. thanks for the visit.

    • v says:

      thanks barb.i suspect most of my photos will look similar as i am only using one lens. i have to now find a way not to let that happen.oh what a tangled web…thanks for visiting.

    • v says:

      thanks so much Nicky and Mike. i like some aspects of the photo, it’s not all bad. any photo of a guitar, truthfully is a thing of beauty to me. appreciate you and you for stopping by.

    • v says:

      woohoo. yeah i had to dust mine off too and it was dusty. i need to buy a new case for it, the last one i had was raggedy and now i’m wishing i had kept it. it had style. thank you for visiting.

Speak on it!

