favorite food

macaroni and cheese is my favorite food.  normally i eat it cooked, but before i made it last saturday, i threw the ingredients on a cutting board and carried it to the front porch to take this photo.  i won’t get into the particulars about how fussy i am about my favorite food, but i will say i like it served slightly warm, not hot, just in case someone wants to know and invites me over to their home.

oh here’s a quick story someone told me.  a friend of a friend went to a local restaurant (small business) and ordered some macaroni and cheese.  it was so bad the woman went home, made macaroni and cheese, took it back to the restaurant and told the owner: this is what macaroni and cheese is supposed to taste like. hahahaha and it wasn’t me.

i can tell just by looking at macaroni and cheese if it’s going to be good or not. yes, that’s judging a book by its cover, but i trained my eye to spare myself the disappointment.

a day late and a dollar short, but be sure to check out the other peeps doing the darn thing on time. ;)

picture details:
f-stop: 11
shutter: 1/250 sec
iso: 200
picture mode: natural
sharpness: +1
contrast: +1
wb: 5400k
tripod

30 thoughts on “favorite food

  1. Val girl, this photo is freakin’ awesome! It looks like it could be in a food magazine, truly!

    I too love macaroni and cheese, but I’ve never had it homemade, only boxed.

    I like the Kraft one with the creamy cheese NOT the powdered cheese – YUCK!

    ” it was so bad the woman went home, made macaroni and cheese, took it back to the restaurant and told the owner: this is what macaroni and cheese is supposed to taste like.”

    HA! LOVE IT!!!!

    X

    • v says:

      thanks ron and hold up! you’ve never had homemade mac and cheese. i’m clutching my heart and staggering around the room about to fall out. you poor baby. i feel the need to spoon feed you some of mine right now. txs

  2. Damn, that photo could be a magazine product shot for macaroni or cheese, or both. It’s gorgeous, and making me salivate. Seriously, I just drooled on myself. I love the contrast between the black background, orange cheese and white counter. Really nice.

    • v says:

      thanks mike, needs a little post processing, but i promised myself no PP this month, but i do like the photo. the black background wasn’t really there…little exposure trick thanks to the sunlight on the subject.

  3. Okay, that photo is simply brilliant. Absolutely perfect. If I didn’t hate cheese so much, I’d be tempted to try some, the photo is THAT good,

    • v says:

      thanks so ziva. you hate cheese. really? never heard that before. i love pepper jack cheese, anything hot. there is so much that can be done to make a different mac and cheese each time. i love it.

    • v says:

      thanks jamie! i always want mac and cheese. i get excited when i see it, then i have to run it through my is shet-o-meter to see if it’s any good.

    • v says:

      mmmm, but wait, crusty burnt edges. oh i can’t eat it if it’s crunchy. i really has to be gentle and melt in my mouth, nothing hard to scar the roof of my mouth. (covers mouth with hand).

  4. Where is Margaret?! She needs to see this ASAP! She believe Kraft Mac n Cheese is actually macaroni and cheese. That is a stunning photo, V. Especially the cheese. And the macaroni. And the cheese. Can I come over now? 🙂

    • v says:

      kraft and who. oh no, that’s not mac and cheese and as a cheese lover i trust you know what you are talking about. how do you feel about pepper jack cheese, nicky? mmmm. m!

    • v says:

      cheryl, you’re a woman after my own heart, a fellow and fussy mac and cheese lover. yeah i can tell and i won’t even step to it. if it’s not going to make me say the alphabet backward, then i don’t want it. 😉

  5. mac ‘n’ cheese….*sigh* another favorite…my son actually prefers the kraft mac’n’cheese. wtf???? I must’ve dropped him on his head as a child!

Speak on it!

