neutral

a stack of one of my favorite filters: a neutral density filter.  they are used for a variety of reasons such as blurring water or allowing the photographer to shoot wide open (use a large aperture) in sunlight. most of the filters in this photo are crap, all except one.  after learning how to properly use it, i broke down and bought a “decent” one; though people say stay away from the circular filters.  well people aren’t the ones buying my filters, so….

for as often as i do use them, they’re more than adequate.  one of my first attempts with a ND filter.

a day late and a dollar short, but be sure to check out the other peeps doing the darn thing on time. ;)

picture details:
f-stop: 1.8
shutter: 1/5 sec
iso: 800
picture mode: monochrome
contrast: +1
wb:3300k
tripod
2 sec self-timer

24 thoughts on “neutral

    • v says:

      don’t have an iphone, yet, nonamedufus, but they have attachments for the iphone for sure, filters i don’t know, but one could just hold any filter up to the lens.

  1. When I had a decent camera, I loved to play with filters. Of course this was way before digital photography, so the results were very trial and error. Great idea for today and your cabin window shot is impressive!

    • v says:

      yes, laughingmom. the results with film and digital are night and day, to me. i used my film camera a few months ago and the results were hit and miss. there’s a lot to be considered and calculated and frankly, i forgot.

  2. Terrific photo, Val girl!

    VERY, VERY nice!

    One of these days when I upgrade my camera, I want to get one that I can use various filters with.

    X

    • v says:

      Mike, guess what! That background isn’t even white, it’s dark gray. 18% gray card for exposure readings. No light box. Fast lens, exposure compensation, shutter speed and ISO. Many things.

      Thanks.

      V Sent from my iPod

  3. I keep forgetting to snag all of my filters from my pre-digital 35mm. Thanks for posting this photo today to remind me to at least get the polarizing filter. Always loved that one the best. Nice take on this prompt.

Speak on it!

