underwater

this is a photo of my fish roc; sly the smaller tin foil barb can be seen in the background.  these two are extremely fast swimmers and manual focus was not my friend. they’re also greedy and will snatch food from each other and my puffer fish (not keeping up appearances) in a second.

roc and sly are descendants of another pair of tin foil barbs i had (rocky and sylvester), quite famous if i might add and were featured in a home movie.  they were also quite strong and able to leap tall fish tank glass in a single jump which resulted in a death.

he should have stayed underwater.

a day late and a dollar short, but be sure to check out the other peeps doing the darn thing on time. ;)

picture details:
f-stop: 3.5
shutter: 1/320 sec
iso: 2000
picture mode: natural
contrast: +1
wb:4600k
handheld

36 thoughts on “underwater

  1. Fish suicide is always so sad. Condolences on the loss of Rocky & Sylvester. I had the same issues with my photo this morning… but I was further hampered by using my cell phone to capture Spike in pixels.

    • v says:

      Laughingmom, how come fish don’t know not to jump out the tank like we know not to jump off buildings. Well some of us.

      V Sent from my iPod

  2. Awesome photo, Val!

    ” these two are extremely fast swimmers and manual focus was not my friend.”

    Well, you can’t tell from this photo because your focus looks razor sharp! Well done!

    Btw, the went over to your You Tube Channel and watched the video clip!

    BEYOND fabulous!!! You are so clever!

    X

    • v says:

      Thanks Ron. It’s not the best quality but I tried. That movie never gets bored to me. It really looks like they were in the ring.

      V Sent from my iPod

  3. The drama of your story had me on the edge of my seat. Then I fell off and broke my tailbone. And because I don’t have insurance, I’m broke. Now I’m a poster child for Obamacare. Which is okay, except that Mitt Romney keeps calling me a 47 percenter with a sense of entitlement, and it kind of hurts my feelings. Now I just might not vote for him in this election, that rich bastard.

  4. SimplyJunebug says:

    I like fish -> in the sea not in my home. It annoys my friend who is a big fish in the home lover. Personally if I was a fish in a home I would leap out in search of the sea. It is an honorable death.

  5. I once had fish, My ex-wife put the aquarium under the window. We came home one warm summer’s day after the sun had been beating through the window and all the fish were floating on the surface. They’d fried. I said my ex-wife, right?

    • v says:

      Oh nonamedufud. Sorry to hear and I know a little about the frying part. Yikes. I do feel a sense of responsibility to take the best care of the little buggers since we “invited” them in. One of my puffer fish is stressed and I’m worried about him. Gotta go check the water parameters.

      V Sent from my iPod

  6. I once had a goldfish that jumped out of his bowl… we couldn’t find him anywhere… until…. my mom ironed a pair of my dad’s pants and we smelled the distinct smell of fish frying… Yes he had jumped into the laundry basket which was sitting beside the table his bowl was on…. true story… I was traumatized for life (not true) 😉

    • v says:

      barb, wow, fish are jumpy creatures. in the ocean is fine, but in a tank, they need to relax. i would have been freaked out myself to find a fish in the laundry basket.

  7. I hate it when that happens! I once had a fish jump from the aquarium and landed on my phone which I didn’t notice when I picked it up in the dark. Scared the crap out of me!

    • v says:

      malisa, they do seem to be aiming for something…as if they’re trying to jump to another tank or maybe wanted a career in the circus. i’m so glad i’m not a fish, mostly because i would do something stupid like that.

    • v says:

      jamie, i just started up again last month with fishkeeping. i was really into it, now i’m just the maintenance lady. how come fish are not in the circus.

  8. Coco (Rose) says:

    I can’t be bored watching fish. Now I think attending this 30 days photography is nice to learn new things as well just like learning about your fish. It’s fun!

    • v says:

      coco, i love watching fish, especially with the lights out and the aquarium light on. yes i am enjoying it, though it’s fast moving and i don’t have the time to get to know everyone. i’ll have to stop back at everyone’s blog once my head stops spinning.

Speak on it!

