day 20 – there’s no place like home

home sweet home

it’s great to get away but i think dorothy had it right when she said, “there’s no place like home.”

however, i hate the cultural shock once i’m back home.  i always come from places where the pace is slower, people are not living on top of one another, there is grass on the ground and it’s actually green, people don’t beep horns or dash out into the street to get to the other side.  it’s civilized and clean.

i think there should be a 10 second video clip on the highway of what the area is like before getting off a particular exit. meaning, and because i live in the not so nice area, i would see a 10 second video of a man washing car windshields at red lights, a person selling valentine flowers and chocolates every 5th light and civilians wearing all black darting out into the street like they’re playing a human game of frogger. now i’m prepared.

i didn’t call one person (driving) an idiot while i was away, but as soon as i got off my exit, the peace and calm i experienced this past weekend drained out of my body and flooded my depends*.  i looked around and said out loud, “i can’t believe i live here. what’s wrong with these people. idiot! this place is a dump!”

for whatever reasons it’s always great to be home but this time it will take me a few days to get used to the madness.

*okay i don’t wear depends, but if i did that’s where all my uh, stuff would be.

i’ll be changing the theme to this blog soon. stay tuned.

4 thoughts on “day 20 – there’s no place like home

  1. Welcome home, Val!

    “i didn’t call one person (driving) an idiot while i was away, but as soon as i got off my exit, the peace and calm i experienced this past weekend drained out of my body and flooded my depends*. i looked around and said out loud, “i can’t believe i live here. what’s wrong with these people. idiot! this place is a dump!”

    OMG…I totally know what you mean because when I got back from Florida, after being all calm and relaxed from laying in sun and just doing nothing, the second I got into the Philadelphia airport, there was a sudden shift in my attitude.

    “*okay i don’t wear depends, but if i did that’s where all my uh, stuff would be.”

    HAHHAHAHAHAHAHA! You crack me up!!!!

    Looking forward to seeing what you do with your theme change.

    Again, welcome home, girl!

    X

    • v says:

      ron, i have a lot to work on. people are getting on my nerves quick and i’m thinking of doing stupid. i slow my car down on purpose just to look at other drivers and make gestures. that’s not right, i know better, but they’re getting to me. i really have to go somewhere else. working on it.

    • v says:

      yes, meleah home is always good. nothing beats my bed.

      except the one i slept in while in germany. sshhhhh.

      there are some folks who don’t know who to act around here some times. i just want quiet all the time.

Speak on it!

