day 54 – glow straws

straws

i didn’t get as much rest as i planned.  did you know that when one signs up for volunteer work they actually expect the person to show up when called?  i just thought my name looked good on paper, but no, there’s work involved.  that was my morning.  i planned to get in the bed and read my book, but my room was not as tidy as i wanted (can’t read in a messy room) so i cleaned it, dusted and swept the floor.  i made time to rest and read after i took the above photo.

kid: so what’s your picture of the day?

me: straws. i’m going to take a picture of straws.

kid: pause.  you can do better than that.

me: no, i can’t.

6 thoughts on “day 54 – glow straws

  1. “kid: pause. you can do better than that.

    me: no, i can’t.”

    Are you kidding? I LOVE this photo, Val!!! Love the glow effect you creative through the straws. That is SUPER cool! The image looks like hollowed candy canes stacked up on top of each other.

    “i planned to get in the bed and read my book, but my room was not as tidy as i wanted (can’t read in a messy room) so i cleaned it, dusted and swept the floor. i made time to rest and read after i took the above photo.”

    Made me chuckle because I’m the same way. I can’t go to bed at night unless my studio apartment is tidy and neat because I hate waking up to mess.

    Have a great night, girl!

    X

  2. v says:

    thanks, ron. i placed the straws in front of the window so the light would filter through. popped on a neutral density filter which allowed me to shoot wide open and gave me a slight bit of bokeh (swirl) in the photo.

    ha. we would get along well. i’m hard to live with i know. i’m crazy. everything has to be just so or i can’t rest. unless i’m sick, then to heck with everything. but yeah, i’ll be in bed and a drawer will be slightly open and i must get up and close it. room needs to be cleaned and sometimes other rooms too or i can’t go to sleep. people talk about me and i’m okay with that.

    enjoy your sunday, my friend!

Speak on it!

