day 137 – tennessee whiskey cake

i went to friday’s with a co-worker today and ate 3500 calories. usually i order my dessert at the same time i order my meal, but i took it to go and ate it when i got home. i had to “put it together”, that is, scoop the ice cream out of the container and place it on top of the whiskey cake. then i designed my creation using the caramel and butterscotch glaze.  i had to set up the shot and decide on a composition before adding the ice cream.  unlike the “ice cream” seen in food magazines (which is often times mashed potatoes) mine is real and was starting to melt.  it was delicious, but i forgot to warm it first. 

9 thoughts on “day 137 – tennessee whiskey cake

  1. ” then i designed my creation using the caramel and butterscotch glaze. i had to set up the shot and decide on a composition before adding the ice cream. unlike the “ice cream” seen in food magazines (which is often times mashed potatoes) mine is real ”

    BRILLIANT, Val!!!! And OMG…does that ever look DE-LICIOUS!!!! I’m not a huge ice cream eater, but I could/would definitely eat this!

    Honestly, this photo ROCKS! Looks like it came out of some French culinary magazine!

    You GO, girl!

    Have a great weekend and I hope you enjoyed this Tennessee Whiskey Cake!

    X

    • v says:

      hey there, ron. thanks a bunch! i’m so not good when it comes to photographing food. i think the key may be lighting, so i took this outside to photograph it. and was still going to eat it should any bugs land on it. remember what i (used to) lick….i’m not scared.

  2. Vegetarian In Vegas says:

    Oh I pick a real food photo over too fancy of a shot any day. I want to know what it looks like even when it is dripping down a spoon because that makes me wish that was my spoon a little more. After all life is messy.

    • v says:

      good day vegetarian in vegas and welcome to my blog. i hear that, real food all the time. though i love desserts and this was my dinner. i had a big lunch and couldn’t eat another bite, but always have room for dessert. life is messy, indeed.

Speak on it!

