day 168 – on the brinks

brinks

this past weekend, i lost my keys at the supermarket and didn’t notice they were gone until it came time for me to use my price plus card (shoprite) at the register. i thought i dropped them in the store, so i went to the courtesy counter to see if anyone turned in a set of keys.  fortunately someone had, but one of my keys was damaged.  i actually dropped them outside in the parking lot!

i called my mommy because i’m four and she bailed me out with her key. long story short, i had to get a new lock, not a new key and when i got home tonight, i finally got around to changing the lock.

i’m pretty good with my hands, yes i am, though sometimes i like to be the damsel in distress, but went ahead and changed the lock myself. there is just one catch when it comes to me putting stuff together, i hate reading the instructions!

i’ve put together so many things in the past, if there aren’t 1,000 pieces to something, i will just look at whatever and start assembling the pieces. sometimes i’m right, sometimes i’m wrong. i know it’s stupid and a waste of time, but i rather figure it out.  

i took the old lock off and put the new one on, but after several attempts something was not right with it. i admitted defeat and had to peek at the instructions.  

i looked around the room and slowly opened up the instructions in secret like i was about to read mr. krabs krabby patty secret formula. i looked at it for a few seconds and then closed it after i realized what i did wrong.

i forgot to put the safety whatchamacallit in between the thing and the other thing. since i never read directions, i also don’t know the proper names of uh, er, things.  after i put the correct parts in their proper place, the replacement lock went on with ease.

still, i felt the need the crumble the instructions. it made me feel better.

5 thoughts on “day 168 – on the brinks

  1. ” fortunately someone had, but one of my keys was damaged. i actually dropped them outside in the parking lot!”

    YAHOOO…what a blessing! That is so scary, thinking you lost your keys. I know, because I’ve done it a lot in the past.

    “there is just one catch when it comes to me putting stuff together, i hate reading the instructions! i know it’s stupid and a waste of time, but i rather figure it out.”

    Val, I do the same thing. I hate reading the directions to assemble things. I’m too impatient to read the directions, so I just get in there and figure it out for myself. And yes, sometime I too have to peek at the directions. But believe it or not, most of the time I can figure it out.

    And BRAVA to you for doing it, girl!!!!

    Love the photo. I like the background color you used too.

    Also…I see that crumbled ball of instructions in the far left corner – HA! Brilliant!

    X

    • v says:

      yes a blessing indeed. i’m just glad someone turned them in. i have a spare car key and remote, but those things cost a lot of money to replace. i don’t carry a purse and on this trip i actually left my camera and bag home.

      oh good, not the only one. not a fan of directions, probably because i can’t follow and i guess i’m impatient too. good point. you know the night i posted this i had a dream my nephew and i was putting together a computer desk and a chair. i got through the desk, but i looked at the chair and thought i would need to look at the directions. i woke up of course. ha!

      thanks.

      hhehehehe.

  2. “i called my mommy because i’m four and she bailed me out with her key.” — that cracked me up!

    I never read instructions either. I usually try and fix things myself and when that fails – I still wont read the directions – Instead, I call my dad – because I’m five!!

    • v says:

      ha. still bailing me out at the tender age of 41.

      yeah, you hate directions too. your dad is pretty handy. i probably wouldn’t do anything if he was around.

Speak on it!

