day 187 – troubleshooting

troubleshooting

a friend called me last week and told me she was having computer problems and would need another laptop, but didn’t want windows 8 (i hate it too).  i told her i had an extra laptop i was not using and she could have it.  i cleaned it up tonight but for some reason, the laptop is having trouble connecting to my network and i want to resolve the problem before i give it to her and she has problems.  unfortunately, my troubleshooting skills are not what they used to be and i can’t figure out what’s wrong.  i hate being defeated by the computer, but i’m ready to toss it out the window.  i do have a recovery CD and can restore it back to factory settings, but even that isn’t working correctly.  i’m going to play around with this for another hour before i give up for the evening.

7 thoughts on “day 187 – troubleshooting

  1. ” i do have a recovery CD and can restore it back to factory settings, but even that isn’t working correctly.”

    Yup, that’s what I was going to suggest, but since that didn’t work I don’t know what could be the issue, Val.

    Someone at one time gave me her laptop and I too had that problem, getting it connected to my internet service. And it wasn’t even a wireless service, it was just to my regular Verizon Internet service.

    I don’t know how old this laptop is, but does it have a bluetooth device? May it’s outdated?

    Gosh, I wish I could help you more, but I don’t have a clue 😦

    Hope you’re enjoying a FAB weekend, girl!

    X

    • v says:

      ron, the recovery CD worked before, but apparently i changed the password and don’t have a clue as to what it is, so it will only let me get but so far without it. i don’t want to give it to her unless i’m sure everything is working 100% as she will just call me to tell me it’s not working and then i will have to figure out what’s wrong anyway.

      not sure how old it is, but no blue tooth. it has windows xp on it so it’s not win 3.1 old. 😉 dunno. i will look at it again and probably say bad words in my head.

      thanks!

  2. Remove the wireless network that it remembers. Reboot and try again. That often works. (can you tell I work on computers every-single-day?) 🙂

    How nice of you to let your friend use the laptop!!!

    • v says:

      Hey Katherine. I tried that several times and nothing. It was working at one point, no changes were made and now it won’t connect. I have up last night. Might try later today. I’m not happy. Thanks for your suggestion. The recovery CD doesn’t work because I can’t remember the password to restore it. What a mess.

    • v says:

      Oh she’s a good friend to me and will do anything for me, how can I not offer it to her. 😉 it’s just hanging out under my bed not being used.

    • v says:

      I’m still working on it like right now! What in the heck is wrong with this thing. All the other laptops and computers connect with no freaking problem. Not this one. Shrugs.

Speak on it!

