day 246 – ghetto lighting

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

this is the photo from my 1977 book jacket entitled, “I don’t have a published book.”

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

i was trying to do the lighting that every photographer does, one side of their face/body in the shadow and the other half in the light. i have a lot to learn about lighting. it only took me 8 months to set up my lights. i really want to learn so i can either take photos of people or of household pets (cats and dogs). i’m leaning toward the latter. a little extra money in a tin can never hurt.

6 thoughts on “day 246 – ghetto lighting

  1. *clapping wildly*

    Val, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE these photos of you! You have such an AWESOME smile, girl! You LIGHT up when you smile!

    Hey, the lighting in the second shot looks good to me. Nice contrast of shadow and light.

    “i really want to learn so i can either take photos of people or of household pets (cats and dogs). i’m leaning toward the latter.”

    Cool idea!

    You know, I’ve been thinking lately that the next time you and I get together (either in NYC or Philly), I would love for you and I to take photos of each other with our cameras. I can take some of you, and you can take some of me. I would love to get a new headshot that I can use on blog. I’ve tried taking pictures of myself, but I would rather them be candid instead of posed, and it’s hard to do that taking photos of yourself.

    Think about it. It might be fun!

    X

    • v says:

      thanks, ron.  (a girl could use some braces).

      sure i’ll take all the photos of you you want. heheh. i suppose i can do a few candids.  my photos never look like me. either they look way better and lie to the public or too ugly to upload. 

      ________________________________

  2. I think both photos are great. The first one still shows the right side looking darker, but it’s more subtle. When I was taking oil painting classes, they taught how to do this with paint, which is not easy either.

    • v says:

      thanks meleah. yes lighting is not easy. i don’t have any additional reflectors either. the diy version i suppose would be tin foil. i got that. 😉

      ________________________________

Speak on it!

